THE SCREAMING JETS

THE SCREAMING JETS

THE SCREAMING JETS

Dave Gleeson (new singer of The Angels) and Grant Walmsley met at St Francis Xavier's college Hamilton in 1981 and first performed together for a school dance at the Newcastle Town Hall. They formed the group Sudden Impact in 1985, which later became Aspect. Paul Woseen joined in 1988 and Richard Lara (guitar) and Brad Heaney shortly after. The band was renamed Screaming Jets in 1989. The group's first performance as The Screaming Jets was as The Love Bomb in a Newcastle pub in March 1989 and they won the inaugural National Band Competition run by youth radio broadcaster Triple J in November

The group relocated to Sydney in early 1990 and supported The Angels on a national tour. In May 1990, they signed with independent label, RooArt. Their debut extended play (EP), The Scorching Adventures of The Screaming Jets, was issued in December 1990.

Through late 1990, The Screaming Jets became infamous for a series of raucous, sometimes violent, live shows. During shows to launch the debut EP, fights often broke out as the band's faithful Newcastle fans mixed with the new Sydney fans. A show at The Kardomah Cafe in Sydney's red light district saw a string of casualties being ferried to the street outside with injuries including broken noses, a broken leg and numerous victims of heat exhaustion.

In February 1991, The Screaming Jets released "Better", which peaked at number 4 on the ARIA Charts. In April, their debut studio album All For One  was released. The album debuted at number 3 and peaked at number 2 on the ARIA Charts. The album showed influences from Van Halen , AC/DC and The Angels . It reached the Top 50 on the ARIA End of Year Albums Chart for 1991. "Stop the World" and "Shine On" both reached the top 40. The controversial track "F. R. C." ("Fat Rich Cunts") was a crowd favourite – a live version was released on Stealth Live! (EP, 1991) – which Gleeson would dedicate to Michael Gudinski or Russ Hinze at concerts. At times, "F. R. C." was performed by guest vocalists from Mortal Sin, The Choirboys or The Angels.

Application

Application


Display per page
Sort by

THE-SCREAMING-JETS-ALL-FOR-ONE

13.99

THE SCREAMING JETS

THE SCREAMING JETS

THE SCREAMING JETS

Dave Gleeson et Grant Walmsley se rencontrent au Collège de St. Francis Xavier, à Hamilton (Ausrtalie) en 1981 et se produisent ensemble pour un projet scolaire à la Mairie de Newcastle. Ils forment ensuite le groupe  Sudden Impact en 1985, qui devient plus tard Aspect. Paul Woseen les rejoint en 1988, puis c’est au tour de Richard Lara (guitare) et  de Brad Heaney d’intégrer le groupe.  Au complet, le combo australien se rebaptise The Screaming Jets en 1989. Sa première performance se passe dans un pub de Newcastle en mars 1989 dénommé The Love Bomb ! Le groupe gagne peu de temps après la Compétition inaugurale du National Band par le diffuseur de radio de Triple J en novembre.

Au début de l’année 1990, The Screaming Jets déménage pour Sydney et a le privilège d’ouvrir sur la tournée nationale des The Angels. En mai 1990, il signe un contrat avec le label indépendant, rooArt.  Son premier E.P, The Scorching Adventures of The Screaming Jets , est publié en décembre 1990.

 A la fin de l’année,  le groupe est devenu célèbre grâce sa série de prestations scéniques rauques et violents.  Des batailles éclatent souvent entre les fidèles premiers fans de Newcastle et les nouveaux aficionados venus de Sydney. Lors du sulfureux concert au Café Kardomah, situé dans le quartier chaud des prostituées de Sydney, une rixe éclate entre les deux camps. On va transporter dans la rue à l'extérieur, des dizaines de blessés incluant des nez, jambes et bras cassés ainsi que de nombreuses victimes épuisés par la fournaise du club.

En février 1991, The Screaming Jets sort "Better",  le nouveau  single qui atteint la quatrième place des Charts ARIA. En avril, c’est au tout du premier album, All For One,  de faire son apparition.  Il se place directement à la troisième place des Charts ARAI pour culminer à la seconde. On y trouve des influences lorgnant vers Van Halen, AC/DC et The Angels. All For One entre dans le TOP 50 des  albums de l’année  1991. Les singles "Stop The World " et "Shine On" entrent, quant à eux, dans le TOP 40. Le titre controversé "F. R. C." ("Fat Rich Cunts")  est plébiscité par les fans. Ce titre sera rejeté lors de l’édition américaine. Lors de certains show des Screamig jets en Australie, F.R.C sera chanté par des invités prestigieux tels les chanteurs de Mortal Sin, Choirboys ou The Angels (dont Dave Gleeson est le nouveau vocaliste depuis la disparition de Doc Neeson).

 

Application

Application

 

 


Affichage par page
Trier par

THE SCREAMING JETS - ALL FOR ONE

13,99